Krone Krone

Rheinau, ehem. Klosterkirche, great organ

Rheinau, ehemalige Klosterkirche, Hauptorgel

Johann Christoph Leu (Leo) 1711-15

State of preservation: romanticised in 1840/41 by Friedrich Haas this change was widely reversed in 1941; new restoration to the state of 1715 in 1990/91 by Kuhn.

This organ was built after the termination in 1710 of the new abbey church, by the organ maker Johann Christoph Leo (in Switzerland he used the spelling „Leu“) from Augsburg. A major change occured during the before the organ was finished: at first only a set of bells was planned for the third manual, which was considered not suitable when tested. So it was replaced by a newly contracted „Flöthen Werckh“ on top which delayed the completion of the organ to late 1715.

The Rheinau organ is the biggest and one of the few extant organs by Leo who did not succeed against his competitors for the position of municipal organ maker in Augsburg, and then moved away. The Rheinau organ nonetheless shows Leo's abilities as a remarkable organ maker.


Music sample

Franz Xaver Murschhauser: Gegrüest seyest du O Jesulein
played by Albert Bolliger


III+P; manuals C-c3 ; pedal C-a0 (short octaves)



Principal                       8’

Spitzflöthen                  8’

Salicet                           8’

Coppel                           8’

Octav                              4’

Rohrflöthe                     4’

Quint                               22/3

Superoctav                    2’

Zymbal                           11/3 ’ 3f.

Mixtur                            1’ 4f.

Hörnle                           1’ 2f.

Sedezima                      1’

Fagott                            8’



Coppel                           8’

Principal                        4’

Nachthorn                     4’

Flöth                              4’

Superoctav                   2’

Quint                              11/3

Zymbal                           11/3 ’ 2f.

Mixtur                             1’ 2f.

Sedecima                       1’




Coppel                           8’

Octav Flöthe                 4’

Flöthen                         4’

Flöthen                         2’

Sedecima                     1’

Geygen Regal              8’



Principal                      16’

Sub Pass                      16’

Octav                              8’

Octav                              4’

Quint                               22/3

Mixtur                             2’ 6f.

Bombardon                  16’

Posaun                            8’


Coupler RP/HW, 3 Zimbelsterne, Vogelgesang, 2 stop knobs, wind release


© Greifenberger Institut für Musikinstrumentenkunde |